International Particle Physics Outreach Group
 
Participating Institutes
Germany
Heidelberg

Universität Heidelberg - Physikalisches Institut und Kirchhoff-Institut für Physik

Institut

University of Heidelberg
Address Universität Heidelberg

Physikalisches Institut
Im Neuenheimer Feld 226
69120 Heidelberg
Deutschland

und

Kirchhoff-Institut für Physik
Im Neuenheimer Feld 227
69120 Heidelberg
Deutschland
Phone +49 (6221) 54-8038
e-Mail Monica Dunford
Forschung & Lehre

Die Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie der Universität Heidelberg ist eine der größten in Deutschland. Das Kirchhoff-Institut für Physik ist nach einem herausragenden Physikers des 19. Jahrhunderts benannt: Gustav Robert Kirchhoff, der 21 Jahre in Heidelberg arbeitete. Das Institut nimmt heute eine international anerkannte Führungsrolle für klassische komplexe Systeme, Quantensysteme und fundamentale Teilchen und Wechselwirkungen ein. Das Physikalische Institut wurde zu Ehren des Nobelpreisträgers Philipp Lenard am Philosophenweg in den Jahren 1907 bis 1912 erbaut. Lenards Nachfolger, unter denen sich Walter Bothe, Hans Kopfermann und Otto Haxel befanden, bauten das Institut zu einem international anerkannten Zentrum für Atom-, Kern- und Teilchenphysik aus. Seit 2012 befindet sich das Institut neben dem Kirchhoff-Institut auf dem Universitätscampus im Neuenheimer Feld.

Beide Institute beherbergen mehrere experimentelle Gruppen in den Bereichen Niederenergie- und Hochenergieteilchenphysik. Dabei werden fundamentale Fragen zum Standardmodell der Teilchenphysik und dessen Erweiterungen untersucht. Die Suche nach neuen Phänomenen in der Physik konzentriert sich auf die Materie-Antimaterie-Asymmetrie im Universum, die Entstehung von Materie kurz nach dem Urknall, Quanteneffekte in Vielteilchensystemen und das Verhalten der Gravitationswechselwirkung bei kleinen Abständen.

Das Physikstudium in Heidelberg bietet in seinen Lehrveranstaltungen eine Vielzahl von Vertiefungsmöglichkeiten. Die Graduate School of Fundamental Physics der Fakultät bietet u.a. halbjährlich Graduiertentage an.

Veranstaltungen & Angebote
Links & Downloads
 
Legal Notice

International Particle Physics Outreach Group
 
Participating Institutes
Germany
Heidelberg

University of Heidelberg - Physikalisches Institut and Kirchhoff-Institute for Physics

Institute

University of Heidelberg
Address Heidelberg University

Physikalisches Institut
Im Neuenheimer Feld 226
69120 Heidelberg
Germany

and

Kirchhoff-Institute for Physics
Im Neuenheimer Feld 227
69120 Heidelberg
Germany
Phone +49 (6221) 54-8038
e-Mail Monica Dunford
Research & Teaching

The department of Physics and Astronomy at Heidelberg University is one of the largest in Germany. The Kirchhoff Institute for Physics is named after Gustav Robert Kirchhoff, who was a prominent physicist of the 19th century and worked in Heidelberg for 21 years. The Institute is now an internationally recognized leader in classic complex systems, quantum system and fundamental particles and interactions. The Institute of Physics was erected between 1907 and 1912 at the Philosophenweg for Nobel Laureate Philipp Lenard. His successors (among others Walter Bothe, Hans Kopfermann and Otto Haxel) developed the institute into an internationally recognised centre for atomic, nuclear and elementary particle physics. Since 2012 the institute is located next to the Kirchhoff Institute on the university campus Neuenheimer Feld

Both the Kirchhoff Institute for Physics and the Institute of Physics host several experimental groups working on low and high energy particle physics. This research addresses fundamental questions testing the Standard Model of Elementary Particle Physics. In addition, the search for New Physics focuses on the matter and anti-matter asymmetry in our universe, the behavior of matter after the big bang, quantum effects of many body systems and gravitation at small scales.

Studying physics in Heidelberg offers a variety of lectures and lab courses with a broad range of opportunities for specialisation. Advanced undergraduate as well as graduate lectures are also given in English. The Graduate School of Fundamental Physics of the department hosts the Heidelberg Graduate Days twice a year.

Outreach
Links & Downloads
 
Legal Notice